Tags

, ,


Something else odd from today. I have a PowerShell script scheduled on a server and one thing it does is copy files to remote machines. It then does a simple WMI query to them too. The script is fortunately chock-full of error trapping and event logging (in fact, I posted about that while I was working on it recently). Today, it failed to copy the files to one of the PCs and my script logged that the exception returned by Copy-Item was: “Insufficient quota to complete the requested service”. That’s a very peculiar error that I’ve not seen before. It made me think of volume quotas – which we don’t use.
The subsequent WMI call failed with: “The RPC server is unavailable. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x800706BA)”.

I got a similar RPC error when I attempted to view the tasklist remotely. I visited the PC and found one of our .NET-based web apps loaded and clearly dead with a .NET error box on screen. Trying to close anything down on it was a waste of time – the PC had clearly run out of resources. I showed the power button the finger of death. After a reboot where Pagedefrag spent ages defragmenting 17 chunks of Paging File (yep, it had clearly been eating virtual memory before it died), I had a look in the local event logs.

There were recurrent errors with Source DCOM and ID 1000 which were rather odd while it had been misbehaving. The text was:
Unable to start a DCOM Server: {73E709EA-5D93-4B2E-BBB0-99B7938DA9E4}. The error: “Insufficient system resources exist to complete the requested service.” Happened while starting this command: C:\WINDOWS\system32\wbem\wmiprvse.exe -Embedding
I looked up that GUID and it equates to “Microsoft WMI Provider Subsystem Host“.

The reboot had fixed the problem. I thought it was worth sharing this for anyone Googling the same weird error message about “quota”.

